Heinz Street, White Hills, Bendigo, Victoria is the home of the Bendigo Racecourse. The track offers some of the best racing experiences in Victoria and is situated just 150kms from Melbourne.

The racecourse is run by the Bendigo Jockey Club, which was established in 1854. Later in 1858, the Bendigo Jockey Club had its first committee constituted. The club's first president was Mr. J. A. Canton, who was to become one of the most prolific magistrates in Melbourne. The Bendigo Racecourse held its first cup in 1868 and named it the Sandhurst Cup. A horse named old England won the race.

Later in 1873, the Bendigo Racecourse underwent renovation and improvement that saw the track change to left hand running. A new structure was built to replace the grandstand that stood on the opposite side of the track. The structure was also removed in 1902 and in its place, another stand was put up. In 1998, the track underwent a complete overhaul that saw its circumference hit 1,995 metres and the home straight 400 metres.

The track has two starting chutes, with one holding starting over 900 metres, 1, 000 metres and 1, 100 metres. The other holding starts over 1, 600 metres.

The Bendigo Jockey Club hosts about 25 race meets at Bendigo Racecourse on an annual basis. The club runs a Spring Carnival culminating in the popular Jayco Bendigo Cup, which is an important race in the lead up to the Melbourne Cup. Other main race meets at the racecourse include the Marong Cup and the Elmore Cup.

The grass surface track has a proper drainage and irrigation system. The Bendigo track is circular in shape with well-cambered turns and has long straights. It also boasts a Sandy Loam soil type, a movable rail and other features that suit it for optimum racing conditions throughout the year.

Bendigo (BDGO) - VIC

Track Details:
Bendigo circumference: 1994m
Bendigo straight length: 400m
Club Details:
Bendigo Jockey Club
Heinz St, White Hills, Bendigo Vic 3552
(03) 5448 4209

Bendigo Meetings for the Last 12 Months
Bendigo Feature Races
Race Status
Bendigo Cup Listed
Bendigo Guineas Listed
Golden Mile Listed