Nestled right on the boundary of Caulfield and Caulfield East and approximately 8 kilometers from the Melbourne CBD, the Caulfield Racecourse is one of Australia's most popular tracks. Some of the track's features include a 2,080m circumference, a home straight of 367 meters, excellent drainage and superb track facilities which were achieved after the extensive renovations done between 1995 and 1996, and the successful upgrades completed in 2001. All these outstanding attributes can be appreciated entirely from the equally grand Rupert Clarke stand.

A dominant characteristic of Caulfield which makes it apparently ideal for competitive racing is its sharp corners which decrease the probability of a win from behind, especially when the leading horse is already shooting for the win on its relatively short home straight. Some of the greatly heralded races held in Caulfield are the annual Caulfield Guineas Day, Thousand Guineas Day and the Caulfield Cup Day held in October. Among the numerous races administered by the Melbourne Racing Club and held mostly in Caulfield, perhaps the most famous is the Caulfield Cup which continues to attract both local and international racing aficionados.

The first recorded race held in Caulfield was in 1876. The locales fondly call it "The Heath" because back then, jockeys would ride even through the unkind bushes, challenging heath and tricky sand hills. During the early years, racing in Caulfield was managed by the Victoria Amateur Turf Club (VATC) before it came to be known in 2001 as the Melbourne Racing Club which continues to administer races up to the present.

The widely-known Melbourne Racing Club, previously called VATC, conducted its first meeting in Ballarat's Dowling Forest Racecourse before settling in Melbourne and declaring Caulfield as their permanent home and premier racetrack. They organize about 60 races annually, most of which are held in Caulfield and a handful in Sandown Park which it also oversees to this day.

Caulfield (CAUL) - VIC

Station Street Caulfield East, VIC 3162
Track Details:
Caulfield circumference: "2080 "m
Caulfield straight length: 367 m
Club Details:
Melbourne Racing Club
PO Box 231, Caulfield East, VIC,3145
(03) 9257 7200
Caulfield Meetings for the Last 12 Months
Caulfield Feature Races
Race Status
Australian Cup Group 1
Blue Diamond Stakes Group 1
C.F. Orr Stakes Group 1
Cadbury Guineas Group 1
Caulfield Cup Group 1
Caulfield Guineas Group 1
Caulfield Stakes Group 1
Dubai Racing Club Cup Group 1
Futurity Stakes Group 1
Newmarket Hcp Group 1
Oakleigh Plate Group 1
Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Group 1
Thousand Guineas Group 1
Toorak Hcp Group 1
Underwood Stakes Group 1
Yalumba Stakes Group 1
Armanasco Stakes Group 2
Autumn Stakes Group 2
Caulfield Autumn Classic Group 2
Caulfield Sprint Group 2
Dodo Sprint Group 2
D'Urban Stakes Group 2
Herbert Power Group 2
Herbert Power Stakes Group 2
J.J. Liston Stakes Group 2
Kewney Stakes Group 2
Memsie Stakes Group 2
P.B. Lawrence Stakes Group 2
Perri Cutten Cup Group 2
Peter Young Stks Group 2
Schillaci Stakes Group 2
Sires' Produce Group 2
St George Stakes Group 2
St. George Stks Group 2
Thai Airways Intl Sprint Group 2
Tristarc Stakes Group 2
Winning Edge Presentation Stks Group 2
Winning Edge Presentations Stk Group 2
Bellmaine Stakes Group 3
Betfair Stakes Group 3
Bletchingly Stakes Group 3
Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Group 3
Blue Diamond Prelude (F) Group 3
Blue Sapphire Stakes 3yo Group 3
Carlyon Cup Group 3
Caulfield Guineas Prelude Group 3
Coongy Hcp Group 3
David Jones Cup Group 3
Dubai International Stks Group 3
Easter Cup Group 3
Harrolds 101 Stks Group 3
How Now Stakes Group 3
Hyderabad Race Club Stakes Group 3
Ian McEwen Stakes Group 3
Jayco Cup Group 3
Jumeirah Stks Group 3
Ladbrokes classic 3yo Group 3
Le Pine Funerals Easter Cup Group 3
Mannerism Stakes Group 3
McNeil Stakes Group 3
Moonga Stakes Group 3
Naturalism Stakes Group 3
Norman Robinson Stakes Group 3
Rubiton Stakes Group 3
Schweppervescence Cup Group 3
Schweppervescence Trophy Group 3
South Yarra Stakes Group 3
Standish Hcp Group 3
T.S. Carlyon Cup Group 3
T'bred Breeders Stakes Group 3
Thoroughbred Club Stakes Group 3
Thousand Guineas Prelude Group 3
Tranquil Star Stks Group 3
Victoria Hcp Group 3
W.W. Cockram Stakes Group 3
3yo C&G Stakes Listed
65th Anniv. End Of Wwii Stakes Listed
7-Eleven Anniversary Vase Listed
Anniversary Vase Listed
Arrow Training Services Plte Listed
Australasia Stakes Listed
B M W Stakes Listed
B.D. Preview-(F) Listed
B.D. Preview-C&G Listed
B.D. Preview-F Listed
Bagot Hcp Listed
Barton Stks Listed
Blue Diamond Preview (C&G) Listed
Blue Diamond Preview (F) Listed
Blue Diamond Preview C&G Stks Listed
Blue Diamond Preview F Stks Listed
Blue Diamond Preview-(F) Listed
Blue Sapphire Listed
Blue Sapphire Stakes Listed
Carsales.Com.Au Classic Listed
Chairman's Stakes Listed
Christmas Stakes Listed
Chubb Stakes Listed
Clamms Seafood Stakes Listed
Debutants Stakes Listed
Dodo Debutants Stks Listed
Doveton Stakes Listed
D'Urban Qlty Stakes Listed
D'Urban Quality Stakes Listed
Ethereal Stakes Listed
Galilee Series Final Listed
Gothic Stakes Listed
Hardy Amies Listed
Hocking Stuart Stakes Listed
Hyderabad Race Club Stks Listed
J R A Stakes Listed
Jayco Cup Listed
John Dillon Listed
John Dillon Stakes Listed
John Glover Lord Stakes Listed
Kevin Hayes Stakes Listed
L.T. Cleary Stakes Listed
Ladies Day Vase Listed
Le Tan Stakes Listed
Lightway Australia Stakes Listed
Lord Stakes Listed
M Cove Classic Listed
Melbourne F.C Stks Listed
Melbourne Stakes Listed
Menere's Stakes Listed
Nad Al Sheba Club Classic Listed
Nat Jockey Celebration Classic Listed
Naturalism Stakes Listed
Northwood Plume Stakes Listed
Ntl Jockeys Listed
Ntl Serv. Stks Listed
P F D Food Services Stakes Listed
Perri Cutten Classic Listed
Pol Roger Stakes Listed
Quezette Stakes Listed
R S L - Vain Stks Listed
Race-Tech Classic Listed
Redoute's Choice Stakes Listed
Regal Roller Stakes Listed
Sir John Monash Stakes Listed
Slickpix Stakes Listed
South Yarra Stakes Listed
Sportingbet Gold Cup Listed
Sportingbet Series Final Listed
Sportingbet Sprt Series Final Listed
Sportingbet Stakes Listed
Testa Rossa Listed
Thai Airways Int'l Classic Listed
The Heath Listed
The Inglis Debutants Stakes Listed
The Shark.Com.Au Stakes Listed
Vain Stakes Listed
Vic Gold Cup Listed
Vic. Gold Cup Listed
Victoria Cup Listed
Victoria Gold Cup Listed
W J Adams Listed
Wellington R.C. Stakes Listed
Wellington Race Club Stakes Listed
Winning Edge Presentations Cup Listed
Zeditave Stakes Listed